14.—Lieutenant-Governors of Newfoundland, 1949-50, Legislature and Premier, 1949, and Present Ministry!, as at June 4, 1950

Note.—The Lieutenant-Governor of a province is addressed "His Honour", and is also styled "Honourable", throughout his life. Where a knighthood or other honour has been conferred before, during, or after the term of office it is shown. Legislatures and Ministries from Confederation to 1923 are given at pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book, and for 1924-34 at pp. 110-118 of the 1938 Year Book.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
Sir Albert Joseph Walsh	Apr. 1, 1949	Lt. Col. Sir Leonard Outer- BRIDGE, C.B.E., D.S.O., LL.D.	Aug. 17, 1949

Legislature, 1949-50

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
May 27, 1949	1st General Assembly	1	July 13, 1949	1

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at the time of going to press.

First Ministry

(Party standing at General Election, May 27, 1949: 22 Liberals; 5 Progressive Conservatives; 1 Independent.)

Office	Name		Date of Appointment	
Premier and Minister of Economic Development. Attorney General. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Education. Minister of Labour. Minister of Finance. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Supply. Minister of Natural Resources. Minister of Natural Resources. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Provincial Affairs. Minister of Winder of Natural Affairs. Minister of Works.	Hon. J. R. SMALLWOOD Hon. L. R. CURTIS HON. H. L. POTTLE HON. S. J. HEFFERTON HON. C. H. BALLAM HON. H. W. QUINTON HON. J. R. CHALKER HON. P. S. FORSEY HON. P. S. FORSEY HON. E. S. SPENCER HON. J. J. SPRATT HON. O. L. VARDY	Apr. Apr.	1, 1949 1, 1949 4, 1956 4, 1956 29, 1949 29, 1949 29, 1949 29, 1949 29, 1949 29, 1949 29, 1949 9, 1950	

¹ First Ministry of Newfoundland as a province of Canada.

Subsection 2.—Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Executive Council consists of: the Premier and President of the Council; Minister of Education; Provincial Secretary; Minister of Industry and Natural Resources; the Attorney and Advocate General and Provincial Treasurer; the Minister of Health and Welfare; the Minister of Agriculture; the Minister of Public Works and Highways; and one Minister without portfolio. The Legislative Assembly has 30 members who serve for five years, 15 of whom are elected on a basis of manhood suffrage and the other 15 elected by property holders only.

The salary of the Premier is \$6,000 and the salaries of the Ministers are as follows: Attorney and Advocate General and Provincial Treasurer, \$4,500; Minister of Health and Welfare and Minister of Public Works and Highways, \$4,000 each;